This blog is hosted on Ideas on EuropeIdeas on Europe Avatar


European Union integration process, Fundamental Rights, Biotechnology, Medicine Law

Say hello to the new ECJ structure

The Court of Justice of the European Union (CJEU) includes different instances or organs, “the Court of Justice, the General Court and specialised courts” (Article 19 EUT).

Until today there is only one specialised court: the Civil Service. However,on September 1, 2016, the seven positions in the Civil Service, along with its powers, were transferred to the General Court.

The Regulation 2015/2422 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 16 December 2015 (OJEU 24 December 2015, in force on 25 December 2015) amending Protocol No 3 on the Statute of the Court of Justice of the European Union establishes a reform on General Court in order to strengthen and allow greater work responsibilities establishing a progressive increase in the number its judges. On 25 December 2015 the number of judges (12) were increased to 40. On 1st September 2016, the seven posts of the Civil Service were transferred to the GC (along with the powers of the CS) and  from 1 September 2019 will be two Judges for each member State and therefore there will be appointed nine, reaching a total of 56.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



UACES and Ideas on Europe do not take responsibility for opinions expressed in articles on blogs hosted on Ideas on Europe. All opinions are those of the contributing authors.